An open letter to my FB friends

facebookHey Facebook Friends;

Most of you I knew in my teens or early twenties. Many I haven’t seen since that time. I generally try to avoid politics on FB. I use FB mostly to stay in touch with old friends that I rarely if ever get to see. I enjoy this tenuous connection to the friends of my youth that allows us to share glimpses of our lives with each other, and yes, some passionate political views of the consistently left leaning variety. I completely understand your grief and anger right now regarding the election outcome, and as a friend you have my sincere condolences. However, I value honesty, and so I will tell you without reservation that I voted for Trump. Before you decide to unfriend me, allow me to tell you why.

Firstly, I usually don’t vote at all. Philosophically, I’m an anarchist. That’s kind of a long story though. Suffice it to say, I have no dog in the partisan R vs. D charade that the establishment puts us through every four years. I have no interest in playing their divide and conquer game.

This election was not about R vs. D though. This was about a populist movement against the establishment. The ironic part about it is that the Dems had the opportunity to be the anti-establishment choice and they completely botched it. So as Michael Moore said, Trump became the “Fuck You” candidate, and a lot of the people that have been forgotten and fucked over by the establishment since really the early 1990’s (i.e. our generation) are just as sick of the game as I am. They want real structural change, not just empty slogans and appeals to emotion.

In retrospect no one should be surprised at this outcome. The Main Stream Media was not paying attention. They are lapdogs of the establishment, and they spin the establishment’s lies. If you were watching ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, or even FOX for your news, you were being lied to all year long. Trump voters are not Racists, Misogynists, or bigots. Many are themselves people of color or LBGTQ, and many were former Bernie supporters. You may be shocked to learn Trump appealed to more minorities than Mitt Romney did in 2012. All minorities do not think alike. Many minority voters were in fact very vocal in their support of Trump.

I voted against the Establishment, and against Hillary Clinton. I voted against corruption and a pay to play government. I voted against war with Russia. I voted against TPP and NAFTA. I voted against the power of the global banking cartel. I voted against the Obamacare disaster. I voted against open borders (and not because of “hate,” but because we are only making global problems of poverty worse). I voted to retain my second amendment rights. I voted for a late term infant’s right to life. I voted against a person who spent a lifetime in partnership with a real, actual rapist, and who did everything in her power to silence the women who accused him. I voted against a person who continued the destructive meddling and destabilization of the Middle East and the deaths of thousands of innocents. I voted against a person who has made millions of dollars off the suffering of the world’s poor through a sham charity.

I truly hope she and all who helped her are prosecuted to the full extent of the law for all of their crimes.

I voted for Trump not because I liked Trump (I don’t), but because Trump represents a chance to break up the establishment and end its corruption. I don’t know if he can do it. But I do know that Hillary would only have made it far worse.

In the end I cast what I believe to be a well-informed vote, with nothing but love in my heart for all the world’s people and a feeling of hope for the future.

I wish you the all the very best.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An open letter to my FB friends

  1. Jason Gosnell says:

    Hey Brian…Most difficult decision of my life to vote for Trump. But, those same points haunted me. Especially, the problems with Russia. I don’t know how optimistic I am about Trump though…I feel very skeptical, but open.

    Like

  2. Jason Gosnell says:

    Brian, Would love to tweet this, but can’t find the option for that…

    Like

Leave a Reply

