A Mountain of Garbage

That’s what one of my new neighbors recently called The House. The house that was left empty for 10 years after the passing of it’s owner. The House that was used like a squat/garbage dump for two years by a wild boar trapper, with bones and piles and piles of trash everywhere. That is the house I am renting and cleaning and fixing. The irony of paying money to rent a house (and not being able to live in it) while I clean up and fix it (ultimately for the owners benefit) is not lost on me. It slaps me in the face nearly every day. Like the other day when my neighbor, Mr. M, said “boy this whole place is like a mountain of garbage.”

I still believe that underneath all that garbage is something very special though. I just sometimes wonder if I am doing the right thing for us, or if I am being used as a means of profit/free property improvement by others, only to be kicked to the curb in five years with nothing to show for it.

I know, dark mood maybe… We’ll see next week hopefully when I get a real idea of the cost of the Roof and Termite damage repair. In the mean time its full steam ahead, with particular emphasis on the outside.

Here’s a video update for your viewing pleasure.

This entry was posted in Community, 田舎暮らし, 古民家. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Mountain of Garbage

  1. kenelwood says:

    I still believe that underneath all that garbage is something very special though.

    I liked this line. Nobody can ever take away what you get out of it !

    ken

    Like

Leave a Reply

