Back Into the Swing of Things

The influenza passed and the week long business trip is over and now I am trying to get back into the groove. To that end I picked up my new-to-me rusty (literally) trusty Kei-Truck.

It’s been nice to have the freedom to tool around, take loads of rotten futons, and rusted metal to the recycling center, etc. One thing I noticed in my shopping around for tools is how rediculously expensive tools are here! I had no idea. I had a great collection of tools in the US that I left behind. And as with my beer making equipment, had I known better, the expense of shipping that stuff would have been well worth it…

Yesterday I took a break from cleaning to walk across the street to the small Buddhist temple in our neighborhood. It sits directly across from our house and up a steep hill. Carved into the hillside are a couple of 石仏 “Stone Buddhas” which Usuki is famous for. There are the main grouping of Stone Buddhas which all the tourist come to see a bit closer to town, but our little valley has its own group of them which is pretty neat. The carvings were done around the 8th century, so they are quite a cultural treasure.

 

 

This entry was posted in 田舎暮らし, 古民家. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back Into the Swing of Things

  1. kenelwood says:

    Welcome back, Brodo. Keep your eyes peeled for pop-up junkyards. More good tools than you can carry home, all – for free.

    Cheers,

    ken

    Like

Leave a Reply

