Business Trips and Influenza

Was away on business earlier this week and during the trip managed to come down with a terrible cough, aches and fever, making for an uncomfortable trip home. Influenza type A or “the Hong Kong Flu” is going around the house. I can’t remember the last time I slept for 36 hours. I went to the doctor and received some medicine yesterday, and feel much better today, still a little weak and groggy but much improved, which is good because I have another trip planned next week and I need to be at the top of my game. Anyway, unfortunately I (obviously) haven’t been able to work on the house, and probably won’t be able to do much until after next week. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Business Trips and Influenza

  1. Sean Michael Rardin says:

    I’m interested to know what kind of medication you recieved. I think of Japanese medicine as being a combination of modified traditional chinese medicine and modified western medicine.

    Like

    • brodoland says:

      I think it was an anti-viral inhalant, which came in 4 parts. Japanese medicine has been pretty fully westernized and Japanese people tend to go to the doctor at the first sign of symptoms (even for the common cold). But I will say that a visit to the doctor in Japan is FAR less expensive than in the US.

      Like

  2. kenelwood says:

    Brodo, it seems we came down with the flu at pretty much the same time! I crashed and burned Monday night at school, with blood shot eyes, achy joints, chills/fever/chills, a red face and a heavy chest. Hardly remember the train ride home as I had my head In my arms trying not to panic/control my breathing (thought I was going to keel over and die). Got home, crying in sheer pain. It was either Ambulance or Pain Killers at this point. Luckily we had some left-over prescription (high power) pain killers from my wife. So I popped two of them, told my wife I loved her and the kids, and blacked out.

    4 hours later in the middle of the night – woke up soaking wet in sweaty clothes ! But Alive, with a lower body temperature.

    Still recovering…

    Be well,

    ken

    Like

  3. inesusan says:

    Oh no. I hope you and your family is well soon. My son had that too. Lucky us nobody else catched it which is like winning the jackpot lol *touch wood* But who m I telling this right 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

