New Beginnings

So I abandoned this blog a long time ago, mostly because I really didn’t have anything to say. I didn’t really know how I was going to use it or if I really even wanted people to read it.

In this post I talked about a recurring dream I’ve had. Since then I had long abandoned it as impractical, unrealistic, silly, irresponsible, foolish and pretty much just a pipe dream. Well that is all true. But a a tide of sorts has been rising in the past couple of years. My wife’s unhappiness here has steadily increased. It is an unhappiness that comes despite being surrounded by wonderful friends and loving family. My discontent too has gotten stronger year by year, despite a great career and a future full of “potential.” I think all the discontent stems from dreams unfulfilled, having a passion to do something and not doing it because it’s “impractical” can mess with a person’s soul–their sense of purpose. In our case there is incredible risk in what we’re doing. We’re metaphorically taking the great leap into the unknown, where our future is entirely uncertain and wholly dependent on us making it all happen.

What are we crazy?

Perhaps. Or maybe we just feel that life is too short to spend all in one place, advancing one career, maybe we want to live an unusual life. Maybe we want to do something that holds real meaning to us, rather than simply play the game as we’re supposed to.  I believe we are beginning a new venture. And I have confidence it will be a successful one. This blog will now be about that adventure. And for those of you that know me – and I don’t really know who else would be reading this besides all five or six of you – this will be an outlet for you to keep tabs on us as we embark on this new adventure.

This entry was posted in 田舎暮らし, Moving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

